Lessons from COVID-19:

Positioning Regional Food Supply Chains for Future Pandemics, Natural Disasters and Human-made Crises

This project is supported by the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative, grant no. 2020-68006-33037, from the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture.

About the project

This Agriculture and Food Research Initiative is a multi-region, multi-institution research and outreach project that assesses the impact of COVID-19 on food and agricultural systems to develop strategies for coping with future crises. 

Lessons from COVID-19: Positioning Regional Food Supply Chains for Future Pandemics, Natural Disasters and Human-made Crises is one of 17 projects nationwide to receive funding through a new program area of the USDA’s Agriculture and Food Research Initiative, targeting rapid response solutions to the pandemic through applied research, education and extension activities. 

Throughout the project, we plan to accomplish the following:

  • Assess the impact of the COVID-19 on farm and food supply chain operations by understanding consumers’ behavioral response regionally and across the U.S.
  • Understand capacities and structural vulnerabilities of regional food systems to support their population needs.
  • Develop resources and strategies for current and future disruptions with supply chain stakeholders and experts
  • Offer training programs for university Cooperative Extension personnel and others to strengthen support and understanding for local and regional supply chain participants at times of disruptions. 

Note: Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed on this webpage are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the view of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Join us January 28 for a webinar at

2 p.m. EST,
1 p.m. CST,
12 p.m. MT,
11 a.m. PT

Tune in for an overview of our project investigating the disruptions felt by producers in three regions of the U.S. and discover what we resources we have found for producers in times of crisis.

Our Partners